About the Department of Economics

Roof of Savery hall above blooming cherry trees

Established in 1917, the Department of Economics is a division of the social sciences in the College of Arts & Sciences at the University of Washington. We are located in Savery Hall, on the northwest corner of the historic central quadrangle (the “Quad”).

Economics advances our understanding of the behavior of individuals, firms, governments and other organizations. Economics’ deep intellectual roots, rigorous analytical methods, and powerful ability to explain and evaluate social phenomena make it an exceptionally rewarding field of study.

The Department of Economics offers four degrees: Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Master of Arts, and Doctor of Philosophy. Economics is one of the most popular majors at the University of Washington. Economics courses are popular with non-majors as well, with approximately 4,750 students enrolling in ECON 200 and 201 each year.

Comments are closed.