University of Washington
Math Logo

Left Navigation Bar

Mt. Rainier

The Department of Mathematics at the University of Washington is one of the major research mathematics departments in the United States. It has an excellent research reputation, a strong, demanding program of graduate study in mathematics, and a full range of excellent undergraduate course offerings. The department has approximately 60 faculty with research interests in virtually every area of mathematics. The department has about 100 full-time students in the graduate program and over 800 undergraduate majors, including 600 in the Mathematics undergraduate program and 200 in the joint ACMS program.

General Information

Welcome Message
Department News
Calendar of Seminars & Colloquia
Department Address & Office Contacts
Giving to Math
Information for Job Applicants
Information for Visitors
University of Washington Links

Research and Education

Seminars, Colloquia, & Conferences
Theory Group at Microsoft Research
RTG in Inverse Problems & PDE
K-12 Outreach and Resources
Research Interests of the Faculty
Milliman Lectures
Math Research Library
Web Resources

Information for Students

Graduate Program
Undergraduate Program
Math Club
Secondary Math Teaching Endorsement
Time Schedule
Academic Calendar
Office Hours
Current Course Web Pages
Math Study Center
Student Employment Opportunities
Math Tutor List
Summer Research Opportunities

Local Information

Departmental Wiki Pages
Computing Orientation
Math Department Users Only

Recent Department News

Krzysztof Burdzy receives membership in the Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS)
August 2013: Krzysztof Burdzy has been elected as a member of the WSAS, an organization of Washington scientists "dedicated to serving the state with scientific counsel" and formed as a "working academy" on the model of the National Research Council. He will be inducted at the 6th Annual Meeting and Symposium at the Museum of Flight on September 12, 2013.

William Stein awarded 2013 ACM/SIGSAM Jenks Prize
July 2013: The 2013 Richard Dimick Jenks Memorial Prize for Excellence in Software Engineering applied to Computer Algebra was awarded to William Stein for his Sage Project. This prize recognizes outstanding software engineering contributions in the field of computer algebra, and is awarded every two years by the Association for Computing Machinery's Special Interest Group on Symbolic and Algebraic Manipulation at the International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC).

Sara Billey featured in 2013 AWM Grand Prize Winning Essay
April 2013: Rebecca Myers, the Grand Prize winner of the 2013 Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) essay contest, made Sara Billey the focus of her paper titled "Sara Billey: The Most Famous ‘Sara in Math’." Rebecca Myers is currently a junior at High Tech High International in San Diego.

UW Math offers online calculus courses
June 2013: Online versions of the calculus courses Math 124/125/126 are now available for enrollment for autumn quarter. Both current UW students and non-matriculated students (from outside the UW) may register. Click here for registration information.

Ron Irving selected as next chair
June 2013: We are very pleased to share the news that Ron Irving will serve as the next department chair for a five-year term starting July 1, 2013.

Sam Hopkins awarded Dean's Medal for 2013
May 2013: Sam Hopkins has been awarded this year's Dean's Medal in the Natural Sciences. A double major in Math and Computer Science, Sam is also a recent recipient of an NSF Graduate Fellowship that he will use to pursue a PhD in Computer Science at Cornell. The College of Arts & Sciences presents the undergraduate Dean's Medal annually to an outstanding student in each of its four divisions. Sam is the 10th Math major in 12 years to be honored with a Dean's Medal. Congratulations to Sam and all the other outstanding Math students.

More news...


U of W Website Terms of Conditions and Use   |   U of W Online Privacy Statement
Please send comments, corrections, and suggestions to: webmaster[at]