Department of Medicine Logo


Grand Rounds

August 29, 2013
Location change: Health Sciences D-209

Dr. Ajit Limaye

"CMV in ICU Patients: Hidden Pathogen or Innocent Bystander?"

Ajit Limaye, MD
Professor, Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Director, Solid Organ Transplant Infectious Diseases Program
UW School of Medicine


Welcome to the Department of Medicine website. We invite you to learn more about our outstanding educational, patient care, and research programs in these pages. We are committed to excellence in all three of these missions, and we are proud of our achievements. This is the largest department in the University of Washington School of Medicine, with 14 divisions and more than 1000 full-time and over 1,200 voluntary clinical faculty members. Our faculty provide the highest quality of primary and subspecialty care for patients throughout the region. They train tomorrow's physicians in both the science and art of medicine with innovative programs at all levels, and they conduct basic, translational, and clinical research at the leading edge of biological science.

Fialkow Award
Dr. Joshua Thaler, assistant professor (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition) is the 2013 recipient of the Fialkow Award. The Fialkow Award is awarded annually to recognize the outstanding achievements of junior faculty in medicine in research, teaching, clinical work, and academic citizenship. The award honors the late UW Dean of Medicine and Chair of Medicine Dr. Philip Fialkow and his wife, the late Helen Fialkow.

Beeson Award
Dr. Edward Gibbons, associate professor (Cardiology) received the Beeson award. Dr. Gibbons was chosen by the medicine residents in recognition of outstanding clinical teaching and for exemplifying scholarliness, humility, compassion, and integrity. The award commemorates Dr. Paul Beeson, a Distinguished Physician at the Seattle VA in the 1970s, who was celebrated for his teaching skills.

Turck Award
Dr. Robert Harrington, professor (Allergy and Infectious Diseases) is the 2013 receipient of the Turck Award. The Turck Award recognizes outstanding career contributions that have enhanced the traditions of teaching and patient care. The award celebrates Dr. Marvin Turck, who has been a faculty member in the division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases since 1964 and has been recognized for his teaching, clinical work and scholarship. Dr. Turck’s energy, enthusiastic teaching, remarkable clinical knowledge, humor, and support for students, housestaff, fellows, and faculty have inspired trainees and faculty for decades and helped set the standard for teaching excellence, making our institution an outstanding place to learn.

DoM News

(To submit news items to the Department of Medicine, please send an email to

Dr. Edward Boyko, professor (General Internal Medicine) co-authored an article in this week’s Journal of the American Medical Association titled “Risk Factors Associated With Suicide in Current and Former US Military Personnel.” The research did not find an association between deployment or combat experience and altered suicide risk.

Dr. Paul Crane, associate professor (General Internal Medicine) is first author of a paper in the New England Journal of Medicine titled “Glucose Levels and Risk of Dementia.” The study evaluated the role of glycemia and the risk of dementia and observed an increased risk of dementia among those with higher blood sugars regardless of clinical diabetes status. DoM co-authors are Steven Kahn, professor (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition), Wayne McCormick, professor (Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine) and Eric Larson, clinical professor (General Internal Medicine).